You run marathons…I thought you’d be skinnier!

Weirdly I have heard this more times than one would think.  When talking about my recent running adventures with non-runners I have been criticized for my weight.  Having said that I should put out there that I am average…5 foot 4 inches at 125 pounds.  Could I be thinner, well sure, but truth be told I am fit, strong, and capable of running 26.2 miles at this weight – how bad can it really be?!?!! Most people just don’t get how hurtful their words can be.  They undercut an individual’s confidence and defeat even the strongest resolve.

Many people have an image in their head of what a runner “should” look like, but if you actually attend a marathon you will see that runners come in all shapes and sizes.  I learned a long time ago not judge a runner by their size…it doesn’t always translate to their speed or ability to traverse the course.  I wish I could communicate that effectively to non-runners, but don’t know if that is possible. You truly have to be at a marathon to get it.  To feel the excitement in the air, see the masses as they nervously line up at the start, and struggle to cross the finish line after battling for several hours.

Running is an amazing activity/sport.  I love being part of a community that is so inclusive and to participate I don’t have to look like Kara Goucher or Deena Kastor, but I do need to show up as they do each and every time.  And no I am not skinny but I am sure tenacious, powerful, and determined.  I won’t ever stop fighting to keep my eating disorder in check and running helps me do that.  As much as it hurts to have individuals judge me by what I look like versus what I have accomplished, I know that it makes me stronger.

#BeHappy #BeKind #BeActive

 

Leave a Reply

