Death to Motivation (aka the Holidays SUCK)

I’m going to start with what may be a very unpopular statement – the HOLIDAYS SUCK!  I get that not everyone feels this way, but stick with me on this for a bit. Finding motivation to do anything other than jump on the hamster wheel of gift giving, decorating, baking, traveling, and all other mayhem that is part of the holidays feels like a daunting task.  Not to mention the temptations that exist to eat like a pig and shirk my training schedule is extremely powerful.

So let me repeat with even more conviction – the HOLIDAYS SUCK!  Or at least that is what I have felt like over the past few weeks.  Without a vigorous race schedule, declining temps, and busying tasks such as shopping for gifts I have struggled to see what is important to me…staying sane and healthy.

I implore a daily regiment that is designed to keep the crazy at bay and my life moving in a healthy direction.  The circus that has become the holidays in my world has thrown me for a loop and my motivation to stay on track has died.  I have a feeling I am not alone in this boat.  The pressure to create a season of memories and conform to the ideals of this sacred time has brought me so far off course I am embarrassed to even admit I caved to holly & jolly of commercialization.  Truth be told I love the holidays.  Giving gifts brings me joy, but getting wrapped up in all the “other” stuff has tainted my perspective.

Time to get off the hamster wheel and take back claim of my motivation for healthy & well-being.  In searching for a place to start I stumbled upon a few key themes to help with this task:

  1.  Surround yourself with positive, like minded people. (Refuel your mojo.)
  2. Prioritize the things you “have to do” and “want to do”.
  3. Take tasks on bit by bit.  (Step by Step – thank you New Kids on the Block for that wisdom many, many years ago.)
  4. Focus on what is important and get moving.

Thanksgiving and Christmas have always spiraled for me into a time of chaos.  To isolate the food issues alone could take a lifetime of analysis and work, but life is too short to get stuck for too long.  Yes my house is a mess, yes I have a thousand gifts to buy yet, yes I have not run as consistently as I would like, yes I have caved to the voices in my head to stress about food – all is not lost.  In the words of famous Christmas song…I’m making a list, checking it twice…the rest of the crap will have to wait.  Off the hamster wheel and back on track.  Happy Holidays – I’m going to try and make them not SUCK!

Leave a Reply

