Running is ALWAYS the ANSWER

It is amazing what happens when one witnesses love  and kindness.  Times are tough, the world feels like it is dissolving in chaos, but  there are individuals that prove the human spirit is alive and well.  Sometimes it takes one stepping back to see it, but love is everywhere.  The gestures may not be grand, but if you stop for a moment you will be see them.  In the hustle and bustle of the holiday season and the depressing nature of the world news events, it is needed for all of us to take a moment to stay in one place and recognize the good that still exists…trust me its there!

This revelation came to me last night while I was out on a “therapy” run pounding the pavement as I took out my frustration from the day and tried to ease the stressful feeling I was experiencing knowing that I was still not done with all my tasks for Christmas. I could not help but feel the negativity washing was over me. I’m a cynical person my nature, but this was even much for me – I was developing a heart of stone. In that moment one of my favorite holiday movies came to mind, The Grinch that Stole Christmas.  The zest I typically have for life was diminishing and the joy for the season was quickly being lost in me.  I was turning into the Grinch!

If you asking me how to deal with a problem my answer most always will be – running.  Now I know this is not for everyone, but for me it is therapy.  On a run I can clear my head, work through a problem, or center my heart.  Last night was no different.  As I pulled up to the stop and go lights in town waiting to safely cross and continue on my way I checked my Twitter feed (there was an enormous amount of traffic – very uncharacteristic of Luxemburg) to my surprise I saw a witty exchange between two individuals that made me smile. “And what happened then? Well, in Whoville they say that the Grinch’s small heart grew THREE sizes that day. And then the true meaning of Christmas came through, and the Grinch found the strength of ten Grinches plus two.”

I know this sounds small and trivial, but in that moment if I had not stopped (literally and figuratively) I would have continued on my run with a negative baggage from the day’s events.  To know that individuals who don’t have to go out of their was still do changed the tone of my run and my attitude.  Humanity may not always transcend through social media, but in this case it was the reminder I needed that people innately are good and kind.

A few awesome songs and miles later I turned into my driveway.  My heart, like the Grinch’s, grew THREE sizes that run.  Love and kindness do exist sometimes you just have to look around to see it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

