Peace, Joy, & 16 Miles

File_000

As the festivities of the holiday season came to a close with all the presents opened, dinner consumed, and the kids peacefully playing I was able to sneak out for a run.

I had every intention of taking my time and soaking in the beauty of the full moon and stars.  Most nights when I head out for a run it is pretty late, all the Christmas lights are off, people are settled in for the evening, and I am trying to just log the miles so I can get home. It was refreshing to see the decorations, run into a few fellow runners, and reflect on the past few months of insanity.  As I headed back for a 2nd Main Street loop I got into a rhythm and felt the stress of the holidays start to melt away.  Running truly is the best therapy!

Loop 3 my mind began to wander, my favorite songs began to pop up in my playlist, and 4 more miles clipped by.  Before I realized it I was 12 miles into a very relaxed, but quick run.  I was forced to take several weeks off after my last marathon in November due to a blood clot and have been questioning my ability to get my distance legs back underneath me.  There is still a lot of work to be done to get ready for AZ in 60 days, but I finally feel like I am on the right track.

The 4th and last Main Street loop had me in a reflective mood.  2015 has been a crazy year.  I have met some amazing people as I put myself out there and began to challenge my running abilities.  My confidence has been strengthened and my resolve for a positive outlook on life renewed.  I thought 2015 would be a year to remember, something to look back on and be proud of (don’t get me wrong I’ve never felt this accomplished) but instead of looking at 2015 as a chapter closing I see it as the beginning of a much bigger life to follow.  I was looking at things all wrong, achieving a goal is not about seeing what you can accomplish with a finite ending. Life is about testing yourself to see what you are made of and each accomplishment a stepping stone. Completing my goals in 2015 is not the end of what I am capable of it is just the beginning.  2016 is going to be a great year, but more importantly each day of my life whether it is 2016, 2017, 2018 or beyond will be great…life is too short not to savor each day, push your limits, and challenge what you once thought was impossible.

I rounded the corner to come home completing 16 miles total. My legs were tired and I was cold (it was 25 degrees out) weirdly though I felt recharged and full of energy.  The best is yet to come.  I cannot wait to see what adventures unfold in the coming year.  Viva La Vida!

#BeKind #BeHappy #BeActive

Leave a Reply

