Books About Running that I LOVE

I love to read and I love to run…being able to combine these two passions has been amazing!  To preface this post I’ve read a ton of running themed books, many of which the typical runner has heard about. Call me quirky (which I take as a compliment) when I find things that are unique and inspire me I like to pass them on. So I’m going to try and highlight the running books that you may not know about, but totally need to pick up and read!

#1 – The Long Run: A New York City Firefighter’s Triumphant Comeback from Crash Victim to Elite Athlete by Matt Long & Charles Butler

“Running saved my life.” This statement resonates with me. I like Matt Long attribute running to bringing me back from the brink.  Matt’s story is one that will stay with me forever.  He is by far one of the most amazing individuals I have every had the experience to learn about.  He embodies the word hope. His story of recovery inspired me to challenge myself.  It is an extremely emotional story and will be near impossible to put down.  There are few books that I buy in hard copy, this is one of those.  I am hoping to someday meet Matt to have him sign my treasured copy.  This book changed me.  It’s hard to feel sorry for yourself after you realize what he went through and how he maintained such a positive outlook on life.  $9.99 (Kindle) $25.99 (Hardcover) $11.46 (Paperback) You can also purchase it as an audible copy and listen to it while running. Just a heads up, there are times I found myself crying…so if you are one that doesn’t like to do that in public (like at the gym on a treadmill) you have been forewarned.

#2 – 138,336 Feet to Pure Bliss: What I Learned About Life, Women, & Running in Running My First 100 Marathons by Dane Rauschenberg

This guy is crazy…in the good kind of way.  He came to Wisconsin several years ago to speak at the Green Bay Cellcom Marathon kick off party and told of his adventures while running  52 marathons in 52 consecutive weekends. Nope, that is not a misprint.  This to me is bananas and I wanted to read up on this kid.   In 138,336 Feet to Pure Bliss, Dane speaks from the heart about his first 100 marathons and gives insight to some of the coolest races in marathons. I enjoyed his antidotes and wit in which he tells them. Dane doesn’t see to care that the challenges he takes on seem impossible to most…that is amazing and has inspired me to do the same.  If your goals don’t scare you a little bit then they are not big enough.  $2.52 (Kindle) $19.95 (Paperback) – Or you can email the author to get a signed copy, which in my opinion is the coolest thing ever! Check out his blog for more info See Dane Run

 

#3 – To the Edge: A Man Death Valley and the Mystery of Endurance by Kirk Johnson

I was 1st introduced the the Badwater 135 event when I ordered the movie Running on the Sun from Netflix.  Kirk was one of the individuals chronicled in the movie.  I found him fascinating and wanted to know more.  I ordered his book on Amazon for $9.99 (Kindle).  His reason for taking on one of the toughest races known to man is heartbreaking, but his determination and grit are inspiring. I found myself wanting to dive into the ultra community after finishing his book.

#4 – 40 Days: My 1037 Miles Around Lake Michigan by Steven Cannon

I was lucky enough to see a tweet recently about this book and could not pass up the chance to read about a fellow Midwestern runner.  Steve is an incredible writer.  His story is inspiring, honest, sad, and triumphant. We all at some point question our ability to take on tasks bigger than ourselves and Steve is no exception, I love that he lets us peek in on that struggle and journey through a dark moment in his life.  $3.49 (Kindle) $16.99 (Paperback)

#5 – 21 Days to a Marathon? by Al Fix

An account of Al’s attempt to train for his 7th marathon in just 21 short days. A timeline that would make any runner cringe! He is honest, straight forward, and hilarious.  Its a short read and a steal of a deal on Amazon for $.99 (Kindle).

 

I hope you enjoy these books as much as I did & still do (I’ve read them several times).

#BeKind #BeHappy #BeActive

Leave a Reply

