New Year, New Goal

If you goal doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you! And let me tell you the Fall 50 scares the living daylights out of me.

So I should probably start with I am a hot mess as a runner. If you tell me about a cool event chances are I’m in…no questions asked, but when my good friend Katie brought up running the Fall 50 solo this year to say I was hesitant is an understatement.  I have been running forever, but didn’t get serious (or obsessed as my husband would say) until this past year.  I ran my 1st marathon 9 years ago.  Between 2007-2014 I ran 3 more marathons, then in 2015 I decided I wanted to put my money where my mouth was and finally get back into running with consistency.

I started back at things and ran the HFM Maritime Marathon in June 2015 followed by 8 more marathons and 2 ultras (6 hour & 50k) between July-November of this year.  I didn’t really have a plan I followed that was formal.  I run 5-6 days a week with one long run usually Saturday or Sunday.  I built my miles with a 10% increase each week until I got to 20 before HFM.  Then maintained with an 18-26 mile long run each weekend for the remainder of the summer. I took a break and backed off my training after my last marathon November 1st and now I am building up for the Phoenix Marathon Feb 26th.

So why so hesitant about the Fall 50???  I’m not fast, but super stubborn.  My marathon PR this year was 4:34, but my average marathon is more like 4:40.  In the 50k I did this summer I ran a 6:50, which makes me nervous for the cut off of the Fall 50 at roughly 11 hours.  I’m not a spring chicken anymore (37), but I handle high miles well and recover relatively fast, still this time crunch concerns me.  I was given excellent advice once by an individual to challenge myself with the the things that I think are impossible…the Fall 50 feels like an enormous goal – perfect for 2016.

Katie (gulp) – I’m in! Let’s do this. Fall 50 solo here we come.  Training will for sure challenge us and crossing that finish line for sure change us.  I’m terrified and excited.  Let the fun begin.

#BeKind #BeHappy #BeActive

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Goal

Leave a Reply

