Infuse Well-Being Into Everyday

Being that we are a few days out from the new year starting I have come to find those around me are quickly losing motivation to follow through on their resolutions.  This does not come as a shock to me, but it did get me curious to find out more about their actual resolutions.

After a little prompting many did divulge what they had set as their goals for 2016.  I was taken back by the lack of planning that followed each goal.  Now as a crazy bird myself I set some pretty tough goals for myself (50 mile race is on my calendar for this year), but I also establish steps to get me in the direction of my goal.  I will be the 1st to admit I am a control freak with  neurotic type A personality traits, so having a plan to bring my goals into reality is not surprising.  Most of the individuals I spoke with about their goals want to truly accomplish them, but not everyone is like me…so now what?!?!?!

This concept got me thinking about the process of achieving a goal.  When I broke down what I have planned to get me to the finish line of my 50 miler I realized that many things I am planning to do in preparation are not very big or elaborate.  They truly are all small things that build towards my massive goal.  This was a big “aha” moment for me.

Infusing aspects of well- being into everyday can get the ball rolling and help to establish change.  The little things add up quickly and help to keep you focused on the bigger goal. For most of us it will take 21 days before a habit will be developed from the changes made.   Often we set ourselves up for failure by expecting results to happen instantly.  Underestimate the time and determination it will take to reach for what we desire.  If it took a year to fall out of shape and gain weight it is unrealistic to expect to be super fit and skinny after 1 day of a clean diet and exercise.

All hope is not lost that the New Year’s Resolutions that were set 8 days ago are a bust – start today, start small. To complete my 50 miler I know I will have to be able to hydrate properly, plus good hydration is important to my well-being outside of running…my daily goal is to increase my water intake by 16oz each day.  Not an earth shattering change, but will make a difference in my overall health and get me closer to accomplishing my ultimate goal.  Baby steps forward is progress! Keep pushing friends and don’t give up.  Rome wasn’t built in a day, but it got built.

#BeKind #BeHappy #BeActive

2 thoughts on “Infuse Well-Being Into Everyday

  1. “Infusing aspects of well- being into everyday can get the ball rolling and help to establish change.”

    Love this post! I feel like people always expect there has to be a pass/fail only option for goals, and you suddenly just wake up being able to do something one day. But all goals take small little steps, and take time. If you mess up, it doesn’t mean you’ve failed. It just means you have to keep trying.

    I use Coach.me for a lot of my small “habit” everyday goals (including fitness related), but also use Jawbone’s UP system for my health goals specifically. Technology can sure help keep you on track!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind comments! I’m glad you liked the post. I totally agree we put a lot of pressure on ourselves for perfection, but change is a process that takes patience. I am a big believer of tracking my daily activities so I can reflect on my progress. I’m old school and have a training journal by Lauren Fleshman. Love looking back to see what I’ve accomplished especially on days that I have low motivation.

      Have a great year! Good luck with your 2016 goals.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

