Nuun Active NEW Formula – Review

I am a huge fan of Nuun and have been using the product for several years to help hydrate me before, during, and after my runs. So when they announced that they were going to reformulate their product I was extremely concerned to say the least.  The #1 run of running I follow is if it is not broken, don’t fix it. Consistency is key. I could not have been more wrong in the case of the new formula. I would have eat or in the this case drink my words of doubt!

So a little background before I dive into the new formula.  Let’s start with sweating…we all do it when we workout, some more than others. In my case there is no glisten, it is all out drench-fest. When we sweat we are losing the electronically charge particles (sodium, potassium, magnesium, and calcium) that keep us up and moving effectively.  I need to maintain my electrolyte balance our my body goes crazy: muscle cramps, fatigue, irritability, and poor muscle control (not fun).

The NEW Nuun Active now includes:

  • non-gmo sourced dextrose to help the body to absorb fluids more efficiently
  • plant based sweeteners (monk fruit and a touch of stevia leaf extract) and ingredients (avocado oil)
  • gluten-free, dairy + soy free, safe for clean sport certification
  • each tablet contains 10 calories (sodium: 360 mg, potassium: 100 mg, magnesium: 25 mg, calcium: 13 mg, vitamin c: 38 mg, 1 g of sugar)

The question that persisted as I patiently waited for my order of new Nuun was – would it TASTE the same? I love the crisp and light sweetness that each of the old flavors/formula provided (I’ve tried them all).  I did not want to get my hopes up and then have them dashed when the flavor was off, especially when I had finally found a hydration system that worked for my training needs.  Last summer was a ton of trial and error (oh so many errors) to find a plan that would keep the leg cramps at bay and me powering forward as I trained for several events in Fall. Starting over was not something that I looked forward to, so with fingers crossed and breath held I gave the new formula a try the minute it arrived on my doorstep!

I dropped a grape tablet into my cup & waited for the bubbles to subside, then down the hatch. HALLELUJAH, it was better than the original!  Now to preface this I am a double tablet user, I like the punch of the extra flavor and the electrolytes keep me on track for hard workouts.  For this experiment/taste-test I used one tablet, but will double up from here forward.  The taste was light, crisp, and did not have an lingering flavor profile.  I drink a lot of Nuun so when I say that it is different I’m not blowing smoke…it really does taste better (at least in my opinion).  The only downfall that I see from the new formula is the amount of tablets per tube.  In the old tube of Active you received 12 tablets at the price point of $7.00 per tube and in the new tubes 10 tablets, the price has remained consistent at $7.00.  In my mind that just means I need to stock up during sale periods to compensate for the slight hike in price per tablet. Well worth the increase to get all natural, clean ingredients.  My nutrition/hydration motto has always been…good in = good output!  Nuun more than ever fits that bill.

#BeKind #BeHappy #BeActive

Update 4/8/16 – I have been using the new formula for several months now and continue to be impressed with the product.  As an April Fool’s Joke Nuun put out that they were releasing a puppy/dog formula. Sadly I feel right into their sneaking trap and got super excited to purchase this for my fur babies.  By the end of the day my excitement was squashed as it was released the product was not “real”, but Nuun did bring to my attention (and those who also feel for this clever idea) that their product is already pet friendly!  AWESOME info that I wanted to pass along.

 

8 thoughts on “Nuun Active NEW Formula – Review

Leave a Reply

