Top 4 Reasons I LOVE to Run

Good health. 

I’m not getting any younger and I have accepted that fact, but that does not mean I am going to go down without a fight.  My health and well being are extremely important to me and I frankly feel better when I workout.  My exercise of choice has always been running. I love the simplicity of it..lace up & go.

Boosts energy.

My life is hectic and full of surprises.  If I want to keep up I need to be on my toes with a ton of energy.  Running gives me a boost, clears my head, and helps me to power through the day.  Don’t get me wrong, when I first started running I was exhausted from exerting additional energy, but that tapered off after two weeks.  The surge in my energy level has allowed me to be more active with my kids and in my classroom.

Promotes happiness (serotonin).

As a psychology teacher I often discuss with my students the benefits of working out and how it makes one feel happy.  A “runner’s high” is no joke.  The science is there to back up this statement, but I also can attest to the personal experience I have had.  I have struggled with an eating disorder for 20+ years and running has helped to keep me on the recovery track. Happiness is a by product that I love.

Reduces stress – free therapy & me time.

Carving out time for myself can be a challenge, but training for an event helps to put things in perspective.  Fitting in a run can be a struggle at times with the crazy that is life.  I have come to schedule my “me time” and put it on my calendar.  If I know that I have a big project due or a monumental decision to make I go for a run to help focus me.  I feel better, strong, less stressed when I finish a few miles. With a clearer head and heart I feel like I can tackle just about anything that comes my way. I’ve been known to talk to myself as I hash out problems on the trails, but running is my therapy and it helps!

What are your reasons for loving running?  I’d love to hear them!  Comment if you would like to share.

#BeKind #BeHappy #BeActive

3 thoughts on “Top 4 Reasons I LOVE to Run

Leave a Reply

