Casco Fire & Rescue 5k/10k 2016 – Recap

Holly was little more excited then Monroe!


The Casco Fire & Rescue 5k/10k is a little local race that has become one of my favorites over the last few years.  In the past I have run this event solo or met up with a few runner friends, but this year was special in that my daughters and husband also ran.  A family that runs together has FUN together.

My daughter Monroe has been training with the Luxemburg-Casco Area Youth Running Club for the past 2 months to prepare for this event. She is still on the fence on whether she “loves” running, but has been open to the idea of racing since there is a cool t-shirt and swag that comes with her entry.  Being that it is her 1st 5k my husband offered to run with her and push Holly, our youngest, in the jog stroller.  I was set to run the 10k course which is identical to the 5k course just 2 loops instead of 1.

The girls and I picked up our packets the night before.  The volunteers were so well organized and helpful that we were in and out within 5 minutes.  I don’t think we were even out of the parking lot and the girls had opened their bags and were mesmerized by the “stuff” they got.  Following with running tradition we laid out their gear the night before and had a carb-loading pasta dinner.

I’ve gotten myself ready for countless races, but it was a challenge to get the whole family dressed, fueled, and out the door on time.  Once we hit the road we were able to get our act together:)  Upon arriving we quickly parked and got the stroller out for Holly.  She was super excited to be navigating for Derek.  The day was shaping up to be a hot one with temperatures at the start of the races around 75 degrees and climbing.  With sunblock applied and water bottles loaded we headed to the start line.

The start was not sectioned off by race (5k or 10k).  Everyone milled around a bit then gravitated towards the cones set up to signify the start.  A recorded version of the Star Spangled Banner was played and announcements were made by the race director.  The event started on time at 8am.  The mob that had collected at the cones surged forward as the horn was sounded to indicate the race was underway.  Derek and the girls had positioned themselves towards the back of the mob so that they would not get run over with the stroller.  I took off with the front group.  My goal was to catch Derek and the girls on my second loop and try to finish with them.  This was my speed work for the week and I had my work cut out for me as the temperature continued to increase as the sun came out.

Loop #1 – After leaving the start line we traveled approximately 100 meters and turned a sharp corner right to head a gradual hill.  We continued to climb the hill for about half a mile then turned right again to go downhill for another half mile before looping onto the Anhapee State Trail for a mile and a half. This is also where the 1st of 2 water stops is located. I grabbed a water cup and pinched it not realizing it was styrofoam and not paper…opps, it broke in half slipping everywhere.  This is my favorite section of this race.  The trail is amazing with it’s trees that provide needed shade and the crushed gravel is gentle on the body.  I began to pick up pace on this portion taking advantage of the cooler temps and break from the sun. The end of the trail portion of the course is marked by the 2nd water stop.  I learned my lesson the 1st time and did not crush my cup. I slowed, drank, and turned the corner to power up the hill.  The hill ends just as we turn back to the start.  5k runners cross the finish and 10k loop back out for #2.

Loop #2  – This loop is exactly like the 1st loop, but not nearly as crowded.  Most of the runners participated in the 5k.  It was nice to have a little more room and be able to focus on my pace versus avoiding traffic.  I enjoyed the crushed gravel on the trail and opted to run on the shoulder of the road where there was also gravel.  I skipped the 1st water station and powered through to the 2nd water station where I again slowed, drank, and hit the hill.  My hope was to catch up to Derek and the girls, but they were no where in sight.  Come to find out they too had a great race and made awesome time.  Monroe was able to run a bit with Coach Short as Derek pushed Holly.

After finishing we all meet up and waited for results.  This typically is a quick process, but the timing company was having issues and we ended up waiting around for a very long time.  The kids did not mind, they got to play at the park with their friends.  Derek and I were able to chat with other parents as they watched their kids play too.  It was a really nice day for everyone.  After awards we headed home and listened to the girls recap their event.  Monroe, who wasn’t so sure she liked to run, wanted to know when her next race would be…she liked the racing part much better than the training part.  We will have to work on that a bit!  We are looking forward to our next family run and will be back again to the Casco Fire & Rescue 5k/10k next year…maybe everyone will take on the 10k with me?!?!?

#BeHappy #BeKind #BeActive

_________________________________________________________________

Date:  May 28, 2016

Conditions:  Sunny, High 70s

Finishing Time: (10k) 56:00

Gear:

  • Oiselle – Lori shorts and New Verra Sports Bra.
  • Milwaukee Running Festival – “In Training” Tech Shirt…orange is the new black.
  • Garmin Fenix 3 – Data is key when doing speed work. I was able to see where I was at with each mile, pushing to stay on pace and hit my goals.
  • Sunglasses – Amazon purchase that has been a lifesaver.  I don’t think I will ever run without glasses again, keeps the sun out and they were cheap so I don’t worry about losing or breaking them.
  • FitSok F4 Tech Socks – My feet stayed dry, cool, and blister free even though I was sweating like a beast!
  • Trail Toes Cream – To further ensure I did not get blisters I lube up extra good in summer with this cream. It has helped keep me blister free and I have not lost a toe nail in over a year.
  • Skora Tempos – The mesh fabric is amazing at keeping my feet cool and with my FitSok/Trail Toe Cream combo…blister free. Happy feet = happy runner!

 

Leave a Reply

